Does fear play a significant role in your life? Are you often tempted to see the worst that may happen, rather than the grace and power of God when facing crises?  I Peter 5:8 states, “Be alert. Your enemy the devil prowls around like a roaring lion, looking for someone to devour. Resist him, standing firm in the faith.”

roaring lion

That sounds so much easier said than done, when the “roar” of fear in echoing in our minds. We feel so vulnerable and alone. In fact, fear can  immobilize us at times, blocking faith and placing us in spiritual bondage. But there is help! For we are not alone, if we have a trusting relationship with Jesus Christ our Lord. 

The words of a contemporary worship song, “I’m no longer a slave to fear, I am the child of God”  by Jonathan and Melissa Hesler echo so clearly the words of Romans 8:15: “The Spirit you received does not make you slaves, so that you live in fear again; rather, the Spirit you received brought about your adoption as His children. And by him we cry, “Abba, Father.”

Here is what Abba, Father promises us:

Isaiah 35:4 “Be strong and do not fear…Your God will come to save you”

Isaiah 41:10 “Fear not, for I am with you. Be not dismayed for I am your God. I will strengthen you, help you, and uphold you with my righteous right hand.”

Isaiah 43:1 “Fear not, for I have redeemed you…”

I John 4:18 “Perfect love overcomes fear.

Psalm 46:2 “Therefore we will not fear, though the earth gives way and the mountains fall into the heart of the sea,”

Psalm 91:5 “You will not fear the terror of night, nor the arrow that flies by day.”

Isaiah 41:13  “For I am the Lord your God who takes hold of your right hand and says to you, Do not fear; I will help you.”

Proverbs 3:24 “When you lie down, you will not be afraid; when you lie down, your sleep will be sweet.”

John 14:27  Jesus: “Peace I leave with you; my peace I give you. I do not give to you as the world gives. Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid.

Revelation 1:17 “When I saw him, I fell at his feet as though dead. Then he placed his right hand on me and said: “Do not be afraid. I am the First and the Last.”

In the face of fear, we have a decision to make. We can give into our fears, and allow the spirit of fear, which ultimately comes from the  devil, to rule our minds and trouble our hearts. Or we can trust in the  rational, Christ centered, Biblical promises given to us by God. Standing on His promises, we can resist fear and say “STOP IT” to the enemy.  We must claim what God says, and allow His peace  to RULE in our minds and hearts. As the Apostle Paul writes in Philippians 4:6-7:

Have no anxiety about anything. But in everything by prayer and petition  with thanksgiving, let your requests be made known to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.

So we have to choose which voice we want to control our lives. The “roaring lion” from the enemy saying  “Be afraid!” Or the voice of our loving, all powerful  God,  Who promises, “Fear not!  Trust Me!”  I’ve had to make this choice many times. And when I say YES to  our Lord, He  has never let me down. His promises are secure. And they are secure for you and all who TRUST in Jesus as Savior and Lord!

What is your experience? Let me know your comments.

Dr. Larry Selig  4/14/2017

Leave a Reply

